Super8 meme

I have been tagged by my sister (of the post-teen trauma blog) so must now write eight random facts about myself, then tag someone else’s blog.

  1. When I joined the primary school percussion group in grade 1 I didn’t know how to read music. I was one of the youngest members. I just hit different notes that I thought sounded nice. The teacher Mr Savage used to warn us not to ‘play at random’. I had no idea what that meant at the time so figured he wasn’t talking to me. A couple of years later (after I’d learned to read music and was a much better group contributor) my friend and I confessed that that was indeed what we had been doing.
  2. I have a piano accordion, and one day I will learn to play, and accompany myself singing Jacques Brel songs (thank you Caroline for introducing me to him). That is my small, private musical ambition.
  3. When I was 14 my friend entered the two of us onto The Early Bird Show’s Top Twenty Teen Teams. A horrifically daggy name for a segment, but the premise was straight-forward. Answer questions about popular music by being the first to press your buzzer. Emily and I won the Grand Final. We got prizes – things like records and a large, impressive double-cassette recorder. Woo-hoo! I got recognised by other teens on the school bus. I wore my favourite op-shop clothes. Fame – my first 15 minutes.
  4. I like to rollerblade but I only rollerblade on flat surfaces. No hills. This is because I don’t know how to stop. I tend to crash into the side of something instead.
  5. I have a small, illicit crush on someone right now.
  6. I think one of my great fears in life is a lack of due recognition. But also know I need to get over that. 🙂
  7. I have a love-hate relationship with my clarinet… but love it, really. Miss it lots when I don’t get time to play.
  8. I am going overseas in ten weeks. Yay!! (you will hear more about this trip. Getting very excited. Countdown starts this week).

I’ll tag this to my friends Sue and Symon, resident in Paris, the glamour-ducks! Their blog is always filled with photos and stories from their latest travels – this time cycling along the Danube to Budapest and back. Very intrepid.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

