Blue sky Friday morning

I’ve woken up with lots of energy this morning. I slept with the window open which brought in a lot of noise from the street, but also lots of cool air which was refreshing counter to the relentless centralised heating in this building. (I am staying on Ile-St-Louis again).

Last night I went to the theatre again – another performance by Theatre de l’arc-en-ciel, this time of Les Tolstoi – Journal Intime (The Tolstoys – Intimate Diary), which told of the marriage and life shared between Leo and Sonia Tolstoy. It’s an epic story indeed that starts with their meeting and marriage (when Sonia is 17 and Tolstoy is 34) and ends with Tolstoy’s death and a fleeting image of the great changes under the newly arrived communists.

Tolstoy poster

I loved it! It was written by CP’s mother and she is in Paris at the moment. I read the script in English beforehand, and unlike Monday night’s play, I found I could follow the dialogue and action quite successfully.

Seeing theatre in another language is interesting as it really encourages you to read everything that is taking place on the stage. All the nuances of interaction. I am always amazed, after reading a script, at the ability and skill of the actors and creative team to bring the words from the page into life. When I read it, and hear the words in my head, it sits quite flat.

So, it looks like today will be sunny and fine! I now have a plan for the next rainy day (to explore the undercover passages and arcades that criss-cross one section of the city).

Today I could:

  • Walk to Bercy village which has undergone a transformation in recent years and now has many small boutique shops and cafes and village feel. I need to buy some presents for people and this could be the place to do it;
  • Head to Belleville, where there is a park on a hill with views across this mostly flat city. This area is known as Paris Mondiale, a microcosm of the many nationalities that call Paris their home, from North Africa and Asia and all over…
  • Montmartre and Sacre Coeur?
  • Head to the galleries on foot. There is an exhibition of art from Iran (in the Sephardic tradition) that I’d like to see… as well as a return visit to the Musee d’Orsay, in part to enjoy once again the cafe on the top floor that is illuminated by the large railway clock/window, a very photogenic place to enjoy a coffee or chocolat chaud.

So many possibilities. I’ll choose soon.

3 comments so far

  1. Hol on

    With that many lovely things to choose from, I think my head would explode with happiness! Can you add to your list a visit to the Rose Bakery at 46, Rue Des Matryrs, 75009 Paris (Phone 01 42 82 12 80). I have the recipe book from this bakery and everything I have made from it has been wonderful. Would be nice to have a spy on the ground there. You could wear your new boots, they look excellent for sneaking about in.

    Okay, better get back to the chain around my neck that is this book project… BTW I don’t know what a chocolat chaud is but I certainly want one now…

    xo Holly

  2. Nick S. on

    Dear G,
    I just finished my double diploma tonight with an hour long group presentation to an appreciative audience. It’s now 1:30 am and just caught up with your latest.
    I am really glad to see you are breaking out of the intense seriousness and stress of your last couple of months in Aus.
    I’ve been offered 2 teaching positions @ CERES next year which I have accepted. I was thinking of you and some of your language programs for children, when I was sitting in on some school groups which included young African and young Islamic children.
    Hey, I realise that you are probably about to leave Paris but I came accross a French muso who is playing with an aquaintance of mine near Brisbane after the Woodford Folk Festival on 2ndJan08, which I intend to catch (I’m going up to the 6 day festival on motorbike). His web connection is worthwhile visiting, even if you cannot catch(or are not interested in catching) one of his gigs before you leave. It is http://www.teteonline.com/movie.html
    check it out sometime.
    Cheers,
    Nick S.

  3. musicwork on

    Holly, I will definitely try to get to that bakery and test out as many of their patisseries as I humanly can. It will be hard for me (you know how I struggle with sweet things), but I will make the effort. (Chocolat chaud is a fancy-pants French way of saying hot chocolate – essential part of the five French food groups).

    Mr Nick, thanks for the link – and congratulations on the job offers and on finishing studies. Yippee and yay for you!


Leave a Reply

