Visual cues (4)

Second day of Professional Learning Seminar for the Song Room, on creativity, music and story today. What a fabulous group of participants we were blessed with! Taking part in music and creative work can feel quite confronting for people, and many of those in our group admitted to feelings of apprehension on the first day. But they also said they knew how powerful music and the arts were proving for the children in their schools, and they came along to the 2-day seminar to build up their owns skills in order to make more music and more arts happen in their schools. Bravi to them!

There were some more visual cues from SY that I want to add to yesterday’s post:

  • A rope, spread out along the ground. We made a line and had to run along it in bare feet, one at a time. Again, this a great strategy for organising the children in the space, as they love the playful pretending that is taking place as they act out the story, and absolutely everyone wants to run along the rope. So they are all waiting patiently, 100% engaged.
  • When the group gathers together to discuss something, SY spreads a large piece of velvet fabric on the ground, in a rich dark red colour. It provides a visual cue for the boundary around which we will sit. It suggests a kind of formality, or ritual, to the act of gathering together.

I am pretty tired from these two days. I have loads of energy throughout, but once the day is over, I crash.

We had a theme of pirates across the two days – arrrgh! Today we wrote a Pirate Chant, which had some fun lines:

Pieces of eight, yea HO, me hearties

Yo ho ho and a bottle of rum (Land Ahoy)

Walk the plank, brandish the cutless

Hoist the Jolly Roger,

X marks the spot!

That was our chorus. My brain has turned to mush and I can’t remember the verses. If anyone from the course reads this post and can fill in some more, please do, via the comments section (link at the top of this post). I will add more if/when I remember more.

2 comments so far

  1. Bronwen McClelland on

    Hi G,
    was this the intro/coda and bridge?
    my brain’s too hot to remember anything of the verses though, sorry

    Intro/Coda (chanted as a 3-part round):

    dirty dagger
    deadman’s chest
    drunken danger
    down in the
    depths of despair

    Bridge:

    Polly want a cracker? (x3) aye aye cap’n

    I’m glad you enjoyed the workshop also! My brain’s been buzzing with ideas/thinking since then and I’m excited about talking with my colleague at Thomastown about trying many new things with our kids….

    A couple of bits of feedback that my brain was too full to articulate yesterday – maybe could you also pass these onto the Songroom people?

    I think that the workshop being led by teaching artists was really really important because, having seen you in action at the language school, I knew that what you were teaching us could work with my kids also. (as opposed to workshops where you get all excited and come back and try them and realise they’re just not appropriate for new arrivals). The other thing that I appreciated was the way that both you and S constantly talked us through what choices you had made in the process, and why you would do things in particular ways, which helped us as teachers to see the sense/purpose in seemingly very simple activities, and me, especially to understand how important it is for me to be very clear in my head about why I’m doing things, rather than just trying out good ideas for the sake of it, but in an unconnected way.

    so thanks heaps again!
    Bronwen

  2. Bronwen McClelland on

    just wanted to share that my class performed a chant at their graduation today – we wrote it together on Monday (when it was 38 degrees in a classroom with no air con)

    oh oh oh it’s too hot (x4)

    Don’t talk to me! (x2)
    Turn on the fan.
    Let’s go to the beach.
    Surfing at the beach.

    oh oh oh it’s too hot (x4)

    ah, fantastic! (x2)
    Sitting by the fan
    Eating ice-cream
    Playing X-box

    Oh oh oh it’s too hot (x4)

    angry angry
    I feel angry (x4, increasing volume each time)

    my face is red
    my face is hot (x2 – slowly and wiltingly(?))

    oh oh oh etc. (x4)

    They loved creating it, and performed it with their chosen actions and great passion – how lovely to come back from a PD and be able to implement ideas immediately.

    thanks,
    Bronwen


Leave a Reply

