I have acquired a cello

… a cello.

Perhaps you will recall in my list of Things To Do once the Masters is finished… learning to play a cello was on that list. That led to me acquiring one through a friend who was going overseas. How serendipitous!

I am yet to have a lesson, but as experienced eyes may note from the photo below, I show excellent natural technique. Note for example the bow-hold – faultless. Hmmm…. after so many years watching MSO musicians explain to workshop participants how to hold the bow, I thought I’d have some idea, but no, it clearly didn’t get absorbed as deeply as it might have done.

What else? Well, I don’t think I have the position of the cello quite right as the bow keeps knocking into my knees when I bow either outer string. That can’t be right. Or perhaps that’s the reason so many cellists sway about a lot when they play. Maybe it’s in order to avoid their knees.

Also, the strings seem to be a fair distance away from the fingerboard. Holding them down is quite hard work. Perhaps there’s a secret to it. Perhaps it has something to do with the way string players seem to have quite a number of fingers all bunched up on the fingerboard in certain positions. They make it look so effortless, of course! (I suspect trying to play the cello will make me appreciate the clarinet a little more).

Anyway, I am having fun trying to do vibrato and tremolos and other such cool sounds. I am tempted to try the ‘icebergs cracking’ sound we used in a project last year, that involves twisting the bow hair against the back of the cello. It sounds horrendous, though is apparently quite safe, but I think I’ll steer clear of it for the time being.

Definitely the next thing I need to acquire is a teacher.

g-on-cello

2 comments so far

  1. simmone on

    cool! Now you can be like sigourney weaver in ghostbusters!

  2. gottagopractice on

    The only thing better than choosing the ‘cello is when the ‘cello chooses you. Oh, the fun you are going to have, unlocking those mysteries!


Leave a Reply

