Songwriting in Timor

My current evening task is to edit footage from my Timor residency, in order to present some of the ‘themes’ and projects that emerged while I was there. It’s wonderful to watch all this footage with the bit of distance I have now – I’ve been back 2 months this week. I feel like I am only just starting to digest my experiences, and to put them into succinct story form so that when people ask me, “So, how was Timor?” I have coherent things to say!

This video is from Baucau, and shows the initial songwriting workshop I did with the women’s centre there.

 

And this video from Lospalos shows some of our instrument-making activities. I love the energy and activity that this footage shows.

2 comments so far

  1. Esther Anderson on

    Loved the Bacau music workshop – such beautiful singing. Also I thought you might be interested in a songwriter from Manufahi, Joaquim da Costa Tavares. Blind musicians from Fuan Nabilan education centre in Same have recorded 2 CDs of his songs (available from fuannabilan.infoxchange.tl/ also sold by Friends of Same in Australia see http://www.friendsofsame.org and at the Xanana Gusmao Reading Room shop in Dili. The lyrics of the songs on the first CD (in Tetum) are on the National languages website at
    http://www.cultura.gov.tl/sites/default/files/JCTavares_Knanuk_Murak_timor_leste_2009.pdf

  2. Nicole Alexander on

    I love the one of everyone making instruments – am going to show it to my soundgarden team for inspiration!


Leave a Reply

